Claudia Goetz Phillips, PhD, FASLA, FCELA

Office Phone: 215-951-5653

PhD, Environmental Design & Planning, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
MLA, Wetlands Certification, University of Florida
B.A. (Honors Humanities), University of South Florida

In 2004 Dr. Claudia Phillips came to Philadelphia University as the founding director of the Landscape Architecture Program. In Spring 2013 she was appointed director of the MS in GeoDesign Program.

Peer-reviewed publications: Phillips, C.G. 2009. Integrative sustainable design curriculum models. CELA Annual International Conference Proceedings, Jan 13-16, 2009, Tucson, AZ. Phillips, C.G. and H.R. Edwards. 2002. Socioeconomic, community-based approach for developing integrated mass transit systems as applied to Baltimore City. Transportation Research Record. No. 1793:71-79; Phillips, C.G. and J. Randolph. 2000. The relationship of ecosystem management to NEPA and its goals. Environmental Management 26(1):1-12; Phillips, C.G. and J. Randolph. 1998. Has ecosystem management really changed practices on the National Forests? J. Forestry 96(5):40-45. Perspectives: Phillips, C.G. 2003. Tide Point celebrates the history of the site. Landscape Architecture 93(11):97; Phillips, C.G. 2003. Prescription for healing. Landscape Architecture 93(2):61; Phillips, C.G. 2002. Patterson Park- a park of the people. Landscape Architecture 92(12):78.

Grants: Co-Investigator for American Cities Foundation (ACF) Park West Planning Grant for $50,000 through DCNR. The Primary Goal for the Park West Project is to develop a plan for the creation of a 'Greenway' trail connecting Cathedral Park, Carroll Park and Parkside neighborhoods with Fairmount Park. The planning grant will allow the Park West Study Committee to design, establish phases for and create a budget for the creation of trails and green spaces within the target area (2010-11). Co-Grant Coordinator for University Green Grant from the Pennsylvania Horticulture Society (US Forest Service Initiative) ($5000 + $5000 in kind) (2009-). Partner for Planning Grant for East Falls Community, William Penn Foundation grant for $33,000 (2006-2007); Philadelphia University Faculty Research, Scholarship and Design Grant for $4500 (2006-2007); Co-Principal Investigator for National Transportation Center Research Grant for $90,000 (2001-2002); Co-Principal Investigator for National Transportation Center Research Grant for $85,000 (2000-2001); Faculty Development & Research Incentives Travel Grant (2001).

Professional Organizations: NAED, ASLA, CELA, SER

Offices Held: Treasurer and Founding Board Member, National Academy of Environmental Design (NAED) (2009—); Chair, Philadelphia University Personnel Committee (2012-13); CELA Past President (2010-11) President (2009-10), 1st Vice President/President Elect (2007-2008), 2nd Vice President (2005-07); Friends of the Wissahickon Board Member (2006-11); State of Maryland Governor's Commission on Environmental Justice & Sustainable Communities, Governor Appointment (2002-04); Herring Run Watershed Association, President (2001-03) and Board Member (1998-2003).

Honors + Awards

  • Elected to the Council of Fellows of the American Society of Landscape Architects (2013)
  • Elected Fellow of the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (2012)
  • Selected as Landscape Architecture Foundation Research Fellow in the Case Study Investigation 2012 Research Program (2012)
  • Presented with Distinguished Alumnus Award in “Recognition of Outstanding Achievement and Contributions to the Profession of Landscape Architecture” by the Department of Landscape Architecture, University of Florida (2012)
  • Elected Founding Council Member (representing CELA) of the National Academy of Environmental Design (NAED) (2009)
  • Served as President, Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA) (2009-10): Served as Past President (2010-11); Elected First Vice President/President Elect (2007-09); Elected Second Vice President (2005-07)
  • Received Schuylkill Action Network Educational Sector Source Water Protection Award for Education Leadership (2006)
  • Presented with CELA Award of Recognition for Excellence in Teaching, Research and Service (2003)
  • Awarded tenure and promotion to Associate Professor, Morgan State University (2003)
  • Appointed by the Governor as a Member of the State of Maryland’s Governor’s Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities (2002)